Saturday, July 13, 2024
Main Menu

New cabinet members take oath

ISLAMABAD, AUG  10 (DNA) – President Mamnoon Hussain on Thursday administered the oath to new state ministers for federal cabinet in a ceremony at Prime Minister House.

These members include Daniyal Aziz, Mumtaz Ahmad Tarar, Syed Ayaz Shah Sherazi and Mir Dostain Khan Domki who were earlier unable to take part in the ceremony due to unknown reasons.

Prime Minister (PM) Shahid Khaqan Abbasi was also present on the occasion.

On August 4, a 43-member new cabinet that included 27 federal and 16 state ministers sworn in. Khawaja Asif became Foreign Minister, Ahsan Iqbal appointed as Interior Minister while Khurram Dastagir was given Defence Ministry.

Ishaq Dar and Marriyum Aurangzeb remained Finance Minister and Information Minister respectively in the new federal cabinet. Mushahid Ullah Khan sworn in as Environment Minister.

Some new faces were also introduced in the cabinet like Talal Chaudhry became Minister of State for Interior while Pervez Malik was elected as State Minister for Commerce.

Others who sworn in as the federal ministers included Kamran Micheal, Hafiz Abdul Kareem, Syed Javed Ali Shah, Akram Khan Durrani, Ghulam Murtaza Khan Jatoi, Riaz Hussain Pirzada, Lt. General (R), Pir Syed Sadaruddin Shah Rashidi, Mir Hasil Khan Bizenjo, Khawaja Saad Rafique, Sardar Muhammad Yousaf, Lt. General (Retd) Abdul Qadir Baloch, Saira Afzal Tarar, Sikandar Hayat Khan Bosan, Sheikh Aftab Ahmed, Muhammad Baligh Ur Rehman, Molana Ameer Zaman, Awais Laghari, Barjees Tahir, Parvaiz Malik, Zahid Hamid, Salahuddin Tirmizi and Rana Tanveer.

Haji Muhammad Akram Ansari, Abid Sher Ali, Dr. Darshan and Sardar Muhammad Arshad Khan Laghari, Mohsin Shah Nawaz Ranjha, Pir Ameer ul Hasnat, Anusha Rahman, Jam Kamal Khan, Barrister Usman Ibrahim, Junaid Anwaar Chaudhary, Abdul Rehman Kanjo, Ghalib Khan, Chaudhry Jafar Iqbal and Dostain Khan took oath as state ministers.

However, Khawaja Saad Rafique, Tariq Fazal Chaudhry, Sardar Yousuf and other ministers retained their portfolios.

Comments are Closed