Sunday, July 21, 2024
Main Menu

Australia set 352-run target for Pakistan in warm-up game

Australia set 352-run target for Pakistan in warm-up game

Hyderabad, OCT 3: Australian batters showed no mercy to Pakistani pacers in their innings as they posted a colossal total of 351 runs in 50 overs at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, Hyderabad, on Tuesday.

Glenn Maxwell played a fine knock, scoring 77 off 71 with ten boundaries that went all over the ground, he was followed by Josh Inglis who helped the Aussies accelerate their innings in the last 10 overs and scored 48 off 30 with a handsome 160 strike rate.

Australia were off to a great start and were looking to hit the 100-run mark without losing a wicket when Usama Mir picked two wickets in two consecutive overs, removing their openers, David Warner and Mitchell Marsh for 48 and 31 respectively.

For Pakistan, Mir took two while Haris Rauf, Wasim Jr., and Shadab Khan took one wicket each.

Despite a wicket to his name, Rauf had a game to forget as he conceded 97 runs in just nine overs.

It must be noted that Shadab Khan is leading Pakistan in the absence of Babar Azam, who may only play as a batter while Mohammad Haris replaced Mohammad Rizwan as the wicketkeeper.

Earlier, Australia won the toss and opted to bat first.

In their first warm-up match, despite posting a colossal total of 345 against New Zealand, Pakistan not only lost by five wickets but the Black Caps chased the target in just 43.4 overs courtesy of a subpar bowling display by the Green Shirts.

While Australia’s warm-up match against the Netherlands was called off due to rain.

The ICC World Cup 2023 warm-up matches consist of 50 overs per side. However, these matches won’t have ODI status because teams will have the flexibility to include all 15 members of their squad in the playing XI.


Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Abdullah Shafique, Mohammad Rizwan, Saud Shakeel, Iftikhar Ahmed, Salman Ali Agha, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Wasim

Australia: Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith, Alex Carey, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Starc

Comments are Closed