Wednesday, May 22, 2024
Main Menu

Nawaz Sharif elected PML-N’s president unopposed

ISLAMABAD, October 18 (DNA): Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif was elected as the President of Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N) unopposed.
PML-N held its intra-party elections in Islamabad on Tuesday. The party’s General Council, comprised of 1995 members.
Raja Zafar-ul-Haq was elected as the Chairman of PML-N whereas Sartaj Aziz was elected Senior Vice President of the party.
Pervez Rasheed was elected Finance Secretary of the party whereas Mushahidullah Khan was elected PML-N’s Information Secretary.
Ahsan Iqbal was elected Deputy Secretary General of the party. Others elected unopposed in the intra party elections are Sir Anjaam Khan, Sikandar Hayat, Changez Mari, Imdad Hussain Chandio and Yaqoub Nasir as the senior vice presidents of the party.
The decision of holding the intra-party polls was taken in a meeting of PML-N working committee after the election commission refused to allot the election symbol to the party.  Chaudhry Jaffar Iqbal was appointed as the Chief Election Commissioner to conduct the elections.
The party voters will elect the office bearers for the tenure of four years. The last party election of PML-N was held in Year 2011.

Comments are Closed