Monday, September 26, 2022
Main Menu

Brussels to host 6th Eastern Partnership summit

Brussels, DEC 15: Today, the sixth Eastern Partnership summit will be held in Brussels. Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev will attend the summit.

The summit will be attended by the presidents and prime ministers of 27 EU member states. Moldova will be represented by Prime Minister Maia Sandu, Georgia – by Prime Minister Irakli Garibashvili, Armenia – by Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan and Ukraine – by Volodymyr Zelensky.

For the first time, the summit will be held without the participation of Belarus.

A high-ranking EU official told reporters that the summit’s agenda includes issues related to the fight against the coronavirus pandemic, reforms in the Eastern Partnership countries and the EU’s commitment to the program. The leaders are also expected to discuss the security situation in the region, including on the borders with Ukraine and Belarus, and Karabakh.

The Eastern Partnership Program includes Azerbaijan, Armenia, Georgia, Moldova and Belarus. Belarus has suspended its participation in the program. Ukraine, Georgia and Moldova signed a memorandum on May 17 in Kyiv to establish an “Associated Trio” to express their determination and will to join the EU.

Comments are Closed