Friday, March 1, 2024
Main Menu

PML-N’s Raja Farooq Haider elected new AJK PM

Nominated PM AJK Raja Farooq with Nawaz

MUZAFFARABAD: PML-N ‘s Raja Farooq Haider was elected Azad Jammu and Kashmir ( AJK ) prime minister and Leader of the House by the AJK Legislative Assembly on Sunday by a vast majority.

The Legislative Assembly elected him Leader of the House by a majority of 38 votes out of 48. AJK President Sardar Mohammad Yaqoob Haider will administer oath to Haider later today.

Chaudhry Muhammad Yaseen of PPP and Ghulam Mohiuddin Dewan, a joint candidate of Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf and Muslim Conference, received five votes each.

The assembly will also elect a number of officials in today’s session.

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif had nominated Raja Farooq Haider as Leader of the House for the newly-elected AJK Legislative Assembly on Wednesday.

Since the PML-N claimed an absolute majority in the recently held polls, Haider was set to become the next prime minister of the region.

Haider was previously elected to the post of AJK PM in 2009, when he contested as a candidate of the reunified Muslim Conference and secured 29 votes.

Comments are Closed