Friday, July 19, 2024
Main Menu

BREAKING: By-elections: PTI takes back four NA seats, PPP claims two

Peshawar, OCT 16: PTI Chairman Imran Khan won the by-elections in Peshawar, Mardan, Charsadda, and Faisalabad after beating the ruling coalition’s candidates, but faced defeat at the hands of PPP’s Hakeem Baloch, as unofficial results of eight National Assembly, and three Punjab Assembly constituencies pour in.

Khan bagged 57,824 to defeat his rival in Peshawar’s NA-31 by-election, according to unofficial results, with ANP’s Haji Ghulam Ahmad Bilour securing 32,253 votes — allowing the PTI chairman to win by more than 25,000 votes.

JUI-F’s Maulana Muhammad Qasim was able to get 68,181 votes in the Mardan NA-22 by-poll, while Khan secured 76,681 votes, as per unofficial results. The PTI chairman won by a margin of 8,500 votes.

In the Charsadda NA-24 by-polls, as per unofficial results, the PTI chairman managed to bag 78,589 votes and ANP’s Aimal Wali Khan got 68,356 votes. Khan won the contest by 10,233 votes.

Khan (99,602) also emerged victorious in the NA-108 Faisalabad clash as he defeated PML-N’s Abid Sher Ali (75,131), as per unofficial results, by more than 24,471 votes.

On the Punjab Assembly seats, PTI candidates Muhammad Faisal Khan Niazi and Malik Muhammad Muzaffar Khan emerged victorious from PP-209 Khanewal and PP-241 Bahawalnagar, respectively, while PML-N’s Chaudhry Iftikhar Ahmed Bhangoo bagged the PP-139 Sheikhupura seat.

PTI is ahead of the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) on multiple seats, according to unofficial results.

Comments are Closed