Sunday, September 24, 2023
Main Menu

Asia Cup Final Drama: Sri Lanka all out on just 50 runs against India

Colombo: Sri Lanka appear set for a painfully massive defeat as they are seven down for just 39 runs after 12 overs in their Asia Cup 2023 final against India in Colombo.

The Islanders, after winning the toss and opting to bat first, lost their opener Kusal Perera on just the third ball of the match when Jasprit Bumrah had him caught by the wicketkeeper.

However, the man responsible for giving daytime nightmare to the Lankans was Mohammed Siraj, who built upon Bumrah’s early inroads and claimed the next six wickets, proving unplayable at times.

The most destructive of Siraj’s overs was the fourth of the innings in which he claimed four wickets.

With their innings in tatters, Sri Lanka now face the uphill battle of making the final competitive.

Earlier, Sri Lankan skipper Dasun Shanaka won the toss and elected to bat first against India.

The start of the match was delayed due to a wet outfield, ESPNcricinfo reported.

The home team made one change with all-rounder Dushan Hemantha coming in for injured Maheesh Theekshana.

Rain has dogged the tournament, a precursor to the ODI World Cup, and more is forecast on Sunday evening.

Sri Lanka came in as underdogs but edged out Pakistan in their last Super Four encounter to book a meeting with India in the 50-over tournament final.

The island nation won the last Asia Cup, which was played in the T20 format.

Washington Sundar has replaced Axar Patel, who was injured in India’s loss to Bangladesh in an inconsequential Super Four match at the same venue.

Sundar, an off-spinner who bats left-handed, joined the team on Saturday.

Big guns including Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah are back in the Indian team after being rested.

India, led by Rohit Sharma, are looking to extend their Asia Cup titles to eight in ODI and T20 formats.

Monday has been kept aside as a reserve day in case of rain delays.

Teams Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka (capt), Dunith Wellalage, Dushan Hemantha, Pramod Madushan, Matheesha Pathirana

India: Rohit Sharma (capt), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Umpires: Ahmed Shah Pakteen (AFG), Richard Illingworth (ENG)

TV umpire: Chris Gaffaney (NZL)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Comments are Closed