Friday, March 1, 2024
Main Menu

Pollard late onslaught gives Karachi Kings last-ball win over Lahore Qalandars

Pollard late onslaught gives Karachi Kings last-ball win over Lahore Qalandars

DUBAI, FEB 25, (DNA) – Karachi Kings defeated Lahore Qalandars by five-wickets in their high-octane Pakistan Super League 2017 encounter at Dubai on Saturday.

Karachi Kings won the toss and chose to bowl in the match. Lahore Qalandars, batting first, scored 155/6 in their given 20 overs.

Mohammad Rizwan was the top scorer for Qalandars as he made 32 runs from 24 balls with the help of two boundaries and a six. Skipper Brendon McCullum scored 31 runs from 28 deliveries with five fours to his name.

Sohail Tanvir and Umar Akmal contributed 22 and 20 runs respectively for the side.

Karachi Kings spinners Shoaib Malik and Usama Mir grabbed two wickets each whereas pacers Sohail Khan and Mohammad Amir dismissed one batsman each.

Karachi Kings, chasing 156 runs in their 20 overs, reached the target on the last ball of the match.

Babar Azam was the top scorer for the innings as he made 49 runs off 42 balls with sevem boundaries to his name whereas West Indies power hitter Kieron Pollard, providing late on-slaught for the team as he scored an unbeaten score of 45 runs off 20 deliveries with a boundary and four sixes to his name.

Skipper Kumar Sangakkara and Imad Wasim scored 20 and 19 runs for the team as well.

Fakhar Zaman and Sunil Narine grabbed a wicket for Lahore Qalandars.

Kieron Pollard was named Player of the match for his performance with the bat.

Karachi Kings had dropped Chris Gayle from the playing XI and brought in Mahela Jayawardene for the crucial match.

Mohammad Irfan Jr. had replaced Ghulam Mudassar for Lahore Qalandars.

Karachi Kings XI: Babar Azam, K Sangakkara (captain), M Jayawardene, Shoaib Malik, K Pollard, R Bopara, Imad Wasim, Sohail Khan, Mohammad Amir, Usama Mir and Usman Shinwari.

Lahore Qalandars XI: Cameron Delport, Brendon McCullum (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Umar Akmal, Mohammad Rizwan, Grant Elliott, Sunil Narine, Aamer Yamin, Sohail Tanvir, Yasir Shah and Mohammad Irfan.

Comments are Closed