Thursday, April 18, 2024
Main Menu

Pakistan Cup: Salman Butt snapped up by Punjab, Asif unpicked

The Shoaib Malik led Punjab side snapped up former Pakistan captain Salman Butt while Mohammad Asif did not make it to any of the five teams for the upcoming Pakistan Cup as the draft for the domestic one-day event was held in Lahore on Tuesday.

Asif, along with Butt and Mohammad Amir was convicted after the spot-fixing saga which shook Pakistan cricket in 2010.

Butt and Asif also featured as teammates during the National One-Day Cup held earlier this year with the former piling up 536 runs and the latter bagging 7 wickets in as many matches.

However, Mohammad Amir made it to the Sindh side which will be captained by newly appointed Pakistan T20 skipper Sarfraz Ahmed.

Former T20 captain and star all-rounder Shahid Afridi also remained unpicked.

Along with Sarfraz and Malik, captains Younis Khan (KPK), Azhar Ali (Balochistan) and Misbah-Ul-Haq (Federal Capital) chose 14 players each from a draft which consisted of 150 players.

The draft process was also adopted during the teams’ selection for the Pakistan Super League which was held earlier this year.

Earlier, the PCB also announced that the match fees in this tournament will be doubled in comparison to a regular domestic one-day game.

The Pakistan Cup kicks off on April 19 in Faisalabad.

Squads from


Sarfraz Ahmed (capt.), Mohammad Amir, Sohail Khan, Imad Wasim, Sohaib Maqsood, Khalid Latif, Sami Aslam, Khurram Manzoor, Fawad Alam, Anwar Ali, Bilal Asif, Rumman Raees, Mohammad Waqas, Saad Ali, Hassan Khan


Shoaib Malik (capt.), Mohammad Rizwan, Salman Butt, Asad Shafiq, Zulfiqar Babar, Amir Yameen, Saad Nasim, Ehsan Adil, Shan Masood, Asif Ali, Ahmad Butt, Akbar-ur-Rehman, Adnan Ghaus, Kashif Bhatti, Saif Badar


Younis Khan (capt.), Mohammad Asghar, Fakhar Zaman, Yasir Shah, Ahmed Shehzad, Azizullah, Faheem Ashraf, Ramiz Aziz, Rahat Ali, Naveed Yasin, Bismillah Khan, Zohaib Khan, Mussadiq Ahmed, Sadaif Mehdi, Ayatullah


Azhar Ali (capt.), Babar Azam, Mohammad Nawaz, Junaid Khan, Umar Akmal, Usama Mir, Bilawal Bhatti, Shahid Yousuf, Saeed Ajmal, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Gul, Ramiz Raja Jr., Mohammad Hassan, Awais Zia, Imran Khan

Federal Capital

Misbah-ul-Haq (capt.), Kamran Akmal, Sharjeel Khan, Imran Khalid, Mohammad Sami, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Irfan, Nasir Jamshed, Asif Zakir, Hassan Ali, Zafar Gohar, Hammad Azam, Sarmad Bhatti, Mohammad Abbas, Arsal Sheikh


Comments are Closed