Monday, May 27, 2024
Main Menu

Ayaz Sadiq elected NA Speaker again: gets 268 votes

ISLAMABAD: PML-N’s Sardar Ayaz Sadiq on Monday emerged once again as the choice of Speaker for the Lower House.Ayaz Sadiq, who was recently National Assembly (NA) Speaker, was deseated by an election tribunal in August which accepted PTI Chairman Imran Khan’s petition challenging Sadiq’s 2013 election win. He had defeated Imran Khan during the 2013 polls, and recently reclaimed his seat by contesting against PTI’s Aleem Khan in the NA-122 by-polls.

MNAs were invited to cast their votes in alphabetical order by Secretary NA.

Addressing the NA before voting began, Acting Speaker Murtaza Javed Abbasi said the assembly had initially received three nominations, but MNA Ghazi Ghulab Jamal had withdrawn his candidature.

“There are only two validly-nominated candidates for the election of Speaker. The member who will secure more votes will be declared elected,” he said.

Comments are Closed